News and Events‎ > ‎

JoJo Thoreau Visiting Drinkwater 2/12/2015

posted Feb 6, 2015, 9:57 AM by marcia.brown@rsu20.org   [ updated Feb 6, 2015, 9:57 AM by Josh Brady ]

 A YOUNG GIRL’S DREAM BECOMES AN INSPIRATIONAL REALITY

 

MAINE—Ten-year-old Maine author Lydia Schofield (writing as JoJo Thoreau) has released her entertaining debut, in the vein of Dr. Seuss and Mother Goose, an illustrated children’s story book titled “Bendy Wendy” that’s about a little gymnast at the top of her game until she hurts her back, and has to survive two bothersome brothers.

 

Little JoJo Thoreau started out as a struggling reader and writer. With the dedicated support and encouragement of elementary school teachers and local librarians, JoJo sparked an inner-desire to continue pushing past adversity to realize that hard work truly pays off.

 

JoJo Thoreau launched her debut hardcover book at the Children’s Book Cellar in Waterville Maine in late December 2014, and since has been visiting elementary schools throughout Maine to inspire other children and support literacy in Maine. She’ll be visiting a few Saco area schools on January 30th, and a Northport school on February 12th.

 

“A story filled with delightful word play and energy--reading it made ME want to do a triple-flippy-floppy,” says Maine bestselling author Lynn Plourde. New York Times bestselling author, Chris Enss, says thatBendyWendy is a whimsical, fun and nimble read. This tale will contort its way into your heart with remarkable agility.”

 

JoJo Thoreau started formulating stories when she was seven years old. She lives in a rural part of Maine and loves to spend time at libraries discovering new authors and enjoying her favorites such as Dr. Seuss, Lynn Plourde, Patricia Polacco, Chris Van Dusen, and Ryan T. Higgins. When spending time at home, JoJo Thoreau enjoys cuddling with her feline sidekick named Boots (hint: he looks slyly similar to Bendy Wendy’s feline sidekick). Her second book, Buckaroo Bobbie Sue, will be publishing in 2015.

 

Connect with JoJo Thoreau on Facebook:

Personal page: https://www.facebook.com/jojo.thoreau

Author page:https://www.facebook.com/pages/JoJo-Thoreau/654279114660105?sk=info&tab=page_info

 

Media coverage:

1)      http://wabi.tv/2014/04/10/9-year-old-publishing-first-book/

2)      http://waldo.villagesoup.com/p/mount-view-elementary-school-fourth-grader-publishes-first-book/1271044

3)      http://www.dailybulldog.com/db/features/9-year-old-author-brings-bendy-wendy-to-cape-cod-hill-school/

4)      http://www.wcsh6.com/story/news/local/207/2014/12/23/10-year-old-author-lydia-schofield/20810041/

 


Comments