COVID-19 Information Page

For the most current information please visit the Maine CDC page

All use of the Drinkwater playground and equipment during the COVID-19 pandemic is at your own risk. 


RESOURCES

• The Edna Drinkwater Office is open Monday-Friday from 8:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. until further notice.  The office will not be open during April vacation week.  Our school number is 338-3430 and messages are checked daily.  You may reach Todd Martin by email at tmartin@drinkwaterschool.org and Peg Long at plong@drinkwaterschool.org.

 

• Drinkwater students are eligible to receive breakfasts and lunches.  If you would like to receive them, please email Kris Chapman at kchapman@drinkwaterschool.org or call 338-3430 and leave a message.  Food boxes must be pre-ordered and you may pick them up on Mondays between 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m.  Food boxes will not be available April vacation week.  

 

• Teachers are always available by email.  Email addresses are available in the directory on the main page of the website.

 

• Our social worker, Ms. Hawthorne can be reached at lhawthorne@drinkwaterschool.org  Please do not hesitate to reach out to her for support as needed.

 

• Our school nurse, Ms. Loring is also available to provide support.  She can be emailed at mloring@drinkwaterschool.org


Here are some activities to keep you and your housemates busy and engaged during social distancing:

Museums

• Louvre Museum, Paris https://www.louvre.fr/en/visites-en-ligne

• National Gallery of Art, Washington DC https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/national-gallery-of-art-washington-dc?hl=en

• Metropolitan Museum of Art https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/the-metropolitan-museum-of-art

• Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/van-gogh-museum?hl=en

• Uffizi Gallery, Florence Italy https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/uffizi-gallery?hl=en

• Paris museums https://kottke.org/20/01/paris-museums-put-100000-images-online-for-unrestricted-public-use

• Museums color books http://www.openculture.com/2019/02/download-free-coloring-books-from-113-museums.html

• Museum virtual tours https://www.travelandleisure.com/attractions/museums-galleries/museums-with-virtual-tours

Zoos

• San Diego Zoo https://kids.sandiegozoo.org/videos

• Zoo Atlanta Panda Cam https://youtu.be/_6wbfVWVk8Q

• Smithsonian’s National Zoo https://nationalzoo.si.edu/webcams

• Reid Park Zoo Lion Cam in Tuscon, AZ http://reidparkzoo.org/cameras/lion-cam/

• Ouwehand Park Polar Bear Cubs Rhenen, Netherland https://explore.org/livecams/polar-bears/polar-bear-ouwehand-twin-cubs-cam-2

• Cincinnati zoo live FB for kids https://www.wkyc.com/article/entertainment/cincinnati-zoo-to-start-home-safari-facebook-live-to-keep-kids-learning-during-their-time-off/95-4d957e04-50dc-4f18-9e9c-63e8dd5012f4

Aquariums

• Monterey Bay Aquarium https://www.montereybayaquarium.org/animals-and-exhibits/live-web-cams

• Georgia Aquarium https://www.georgiaaquarium.org/webcam/ocean-voyager/

• National Aquarium Virtual Tour http://samuraivirtualtours.com/example/nadc/index.html

• Virtual Tour of the Seattle Aquarium https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mY8__n13tKM&feature=youtu.be

Travel the World

• Google Maps street view will allow you to visit almost any destination around the world. Check out this view from Pompei. https://www.google.com/maps/@40.7489468,14.4848331,3a,75y,217.27h,79.14t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1s1e-bu_kis-dL1BnVGZhDdw!2e0!7i13312!8i6656?hl=en

• Visit the Great Wall of China https://www.thechinaguide.com/destination/great-wall-of-china

• Virtually discover Yellowstone National Park https://www.nps.gov/yell/learn/photosmultimedia/virtualtours.htm

• Tour England through this 360 video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NakltvfbYk0&feature=youtu.be

• Take a live look at Colonial Williamsburg. https://www.colonialwilliamsburg.org/webcams/

• Go on a virtual field trip to Ellis Island. http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/immigration/webcast.htm

• US National Parks https://totallythebomb.com/heres-33-national-park-tours-you-can-take-virtually-from-the-comfort-of-your-home?fbclid=IwAR2NeJzewJ2TcoEYM0uIRXO1u-MmI06T2tF4CdcsOmUsuH_Z1x5yoe_Xo_g

Netflix for Kids

• https://homeschoolhideout.com/educational-shows-on-netflix/?fbclid=IwAR02Ubppc3wujBw8T961nvHEhi4zivwROE4jPs0Dpapug3ezZq80JTcRFrw

Online schools

• Scholastic’s school courses https://www.wfla.com/community/health/coronavirus/scholastic-releases-daily-learning-courses-for-kids-home-from-school-amid-coronavirus/

• Free online ed sites https://kidsactivitiesblog.com/135609/list-of-education-companies-offering-free-subscriptions/

• School workbooks https://www.edhelper.com/teacher-education/Daily-Free-Learning-Workbooks-for-Teachers-to-Share-with-Parents-while-Schools-are-Closed-Kids-will-actually-do-these.htm?fbclid=IwAR0Nesgp0XLeboJCQbtNkNcEiu9nZhtBPWLbjj_4wZg0GnljjO1TTlwN3LU

• Online schools https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1NUKLZN7hGSu1Hzm70kfzBKs-lsSELaEMggS60Bi2O2I/htmlview?usp=sharing&usp=embed_facebook&sle=true&pru=AAABcPYwzkg*rPnqv8XlN3goKJHq-z1fPA

 

Other

• Boredom busters for kids https://familyeguide.com/boredom-busters-110-fun-at-home-activities-for-families-kids-2/fbclid=IwAR2q_Z6LA_wJpdJtErqZVPkUYvEE5dH0wRiOh78XY9xGfLe0gLuJWbBVQOY

• Isolation/home ed things to do https://www.tobyandroo.com/self-isolation-homed-ed-entertainment-ideas-kids/

Symphony/Opera

• Metropolitan Opera virtual tours https://www.travelandleisure.com/culture-design/music/metropolitan-opera-offering-free-virtual-shows

• Seattle Symphony online https://mynorthwest.com/1765138/seattle-symphony-coronavirus/

• Chamber Society of Lincoln Center https://www.chambermusicsociety.org/watch-and-listen/

• Munich’s Opera and Ballet https://www.staatsoper.de/en/staatsopertv.html

• Berlin Philharmonic (need to redeem voucher on their website by March 31st to have access to their digital concert hall) https://www.digitalconcerthall.com/en/home

Translated from English

·        Attached link: Online Tours | Louvre Museum | Paris. Click to open in new tab.

Visit the museum's exhibition rooms and galleries, contemplate the façades of the Louvre... Come along on a virtual tour and enjoy the view, thanks to the sponsorship of Shiseido.  

www.louvre.fr